After

.
.

My stuff!

I like to color coordinate my books. Besides being a fun way to spend Saturday afternoon, you end up with perplexing juxtapositions, like the Twilight trilogy next to an Eisenhower biography.

.
.
.

In London I loved to sit by the window. I had a view of the canal and towpath: I’d watch the boats, the people, the occasional fox. I miss it, but now I have a chair in the sun.

.
.
.
.
.
My friend Meghann laughs at my turtle collection. It reminds her of this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMNry4PE93Y
.
.

Every year Kyo’s mother sends me a Japanese calendar for Christmas. I save them. One day I plan to wallpaper an entire room in Japanese calendars.

.
.
.
.
.

I grew up in a house with crammed cupboards. I rebelled.

In fact, one of my favorite things about being a Virgo is seeing all the handles of my teacups facing the same direction. Order is relaxing!

.
.
.
The bedroom is dark. This is helped by my Phillips Wake Up Light HF3470 (on the little table next to the mirror). If you sleep with it right in front of your face, it wakes you with a simulated sunrise. Lovely!
.
.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “After”

  1. jannamorishima Says:

    How come I am a Virgo too and none of my teacups face the same direction?

  2. amanda Says:

    Looks like you moved in nicely!

    Your color coded books still crack me up. Reminds me of ‘Hi-Fidelity’ and the way John Cusack organized his books:

    “Tonight, though, I’m trying to put
    them in the order in which I bought
    them. That way I can write my own
    autobiography without picking up a
    pen. Pull them all off the shelves,
    look for Revolver and go from there.
    I’ll be able to see how I got from
    Deep Purple to The Soft Boys in twenty-
    five moves…. To find
    anything you have to be me, or at
    the very least a doctor in Rob-ology.
    If you wanna find Landslide by
    Fleetwood Mac you have to know that
    I bought it for someone in the fall
    of 1983 and then didn’t give it to
    them for personal reasons. But you
    don’t know any of that, do you? You
    would have to ask me to–“

  3. kwicklund Says:

    Thank you for that quote. That made me smile.

  4. hey, that tickles Says:

    looks SO comfortable. and a chair in the sun…perfect. thanks for sharing. glad you’re stuff and you are reunited.

Leave a Reply

